I mean, I love flip-flops. The only thing about colder weather I dislike (other than the chance of getting iced in) is that you have to start wearing closed-toe shoes. If I could, I'd never wear tennis shoes. But when it's cold enough that I start wearing a jacket, the flip-flops take up residence in one of the dark crannies of my closet until summer starts to roll around again.
And it's not just girls who are doing it. When I see a guy wearing a sweater with shorts and sandals, it doesn't matter if he's got rippling biceps; it screams "I'm a goober who needs help getting dressed! Hyuck! Hyuck! Hyuck!"
I wonder what guys think of girls who make this faux-pas. I'll wage it isn't: "Oooh Sexy legs!" Have you seen the goose-flesh on their legs? It's not sexy; it's scary! We're supposed to be the more fashion orientated gender, people! Who the h#// decided that this was an acceptable fashion trend? I'd like to meet them so I can knock some sense into them.
If you have to show of your legs, girls, there's these things called "tights". If you have to wear short skirts and shorts, layer them over some tights, please. You'll be warmer and won't look like you got dressed by playing Russian Roulette, Version: Fashion.
And as for flip-flops... Just say no. Please. (That goes for guys too. But not the part about the tights. If I see a guy wearing tights, I think I might hurt myself laughing. Just to warn you in advance.) Plus, if you wear those dreaded closed-toe shoes during the winter, you won't risk frost-bite like that Chinese guy in Pirates of the Caribbean: World's End. I'd post a picture, but all the ones I found were of the real deal and they aren't pretty. There are lots of alternatives to flip-flops so it shouldn't be too hard to find something more suitable for colder weather.
So, please, if it's cold enough you need a jacket, trade your flip-flops for some cute boots or tennis shoes. I'm begging you. Please!