Dec 19, 2009

>4000 teenage girls + rock and roll star = oh crap!

Ahhhhh, the Revolve Tour. An chance to spend time strengthening one's faith in the company of one's fellow teen girls. A time to be reminded that God loves you. Great music, great message, great fun.
This was my second time going. Last year was a blast despite the fact that I had had no idea who half the artists or speakers were. This year saw many familiar faces on the stage and some new ones as well. (I still didn't know who half the people on stage were!)
This year was fun too. It was also thought provoking and now we have a new diatribe.
Ready?
...
Remember, this is a rant so that means I maybe unreasonable, offensive, and overly honest about what I think and feel about this topic.
...
You sure you're ready?
...
STOP GROPING THAT GUY'S BUTT!
Why is this an issue? We're supposedly Christian girls, right? That means we're trying to stay pure and all that stuff. So why--why?!--did I hear girls saying "Yah, has such a cute butt"?
Okay, if you haven't guessed, before last Friday I'd never even heard of Stellar Kart. For all I knew, Stellar Kart was a flavor of ice cream! For those of you who--like I did--have no idea who they are, Stellar Kart is an all-guys Christian rock band. Christian rock band. Which means no provocative behavior, they stay dressed, and their lyrics are clean.
Why does hearing someone comment on the attractiveness of a singer's butt offend me Okay, let's look at this from another angle so you understand. How about a game of "What If"?
What if it had been a woman on that stage and a Christian guy had commented on her booty? Would you say that was inappropriate behavior for a young man of the Faith? If I heard a guy who was supposedly a Christian saying that about a woman, I would tempted to kick him in the...
For those of you who still don't get what I'm drive at let me put it this way: You are mentally groping that guy's butt when you say something like that. M'kay? Do I need to get out the flashcards? I don't care what you say to defend yourself; you are sexually objectifying someone when you comment about how cute their butt is.
Let's look at the definition of sexual objectification as stated in wikipedia:
Sexual objectification refers to the practice of regarding or treating another person merely as an instrument (object) towards the person's sexual pleasure. Objectification refers to an attitude that regards the human body as a commodity or as an object for use for sexual purposes, with insufficient regard for a person's personality
That is exactly what that girl was doing when she commented on the lead singer's butt. It no longer matter what sort of music he made, whether he liked pepperonis or sausage on his pizza, or even if he had a brain. His butt was now the most important part of his anatomy and now every girl around the original speaker was now talking about his butt and whether it was hot or not. Not his music. Not his personality. His gosh-darn-it, stinking butt!
Does anyone not see how wrong this is? Even if you're not a Christian, this should disturb you! For the last half century, women have struggled to throw off this exact sort of objectification. I'm sure our grandmothers and great grandmothers are very proud of us turning around and becoming the oppressors. Instead of the the objectified, we objectify.
And if that isn't enough to make you realize how messed up this is, remember those two stone tablets God gave Moses? I think I remember something along the lines of THOU SHALT NOT COMMIT FREAKING ADULTERY OR ELSE! (Yes, I know that that's not really how it goes, but I felt italics failed to give the emphasis needed at the moment.)
How is sexually objectifying a guy via saying he has a cute butt adultery? Well, here's the thing. Adultery is defined as an act that compromises your own or some else's chastity. In your head, you have just touched his butt. (Bad touch!) You have just sexually harrassed--sexually compromised--that guy. You have just committed adultery with him--and he doesn't even realize it.
I'm sorry. Did I offend you? By the way...
You have a cute butt.

Dec 15, 2009

It's not like I haven't been busy...

Oopsie. Haven't updated in a while, have I? Well, the semester is over, so maybe I can get some more blogging in. Would you guys like that? I know I would.
Let's see, what all has happened since my last update. Well, I completed my first concurrent semester of school, as mentioned above. And I graduated high school which means next semester I get to be a full-blown college student! *throws confetti and cheers*

Also since my last update, I have created three (maybe four, can't count at the moment) new videos on youtube! Check it out on: http://www.youtube.com/justalabyrinthjunkie. Please. I'm seriously starting to beg here.

My dad's colon removal went well, although he's not enjoying the cold weather nearly as much as he used to. Part of that may be the fact that he's lost some of his stuffings to keep him warm. Thank you so much to everyone who kept him in their prayers before, during, and after the surgery!
I went to the Revolve Tour conference and, boy, do I have a rant about that coming up!

Also, I went shopping recently. If you are ever in Tulsa, love to dress like a rockstar, and happen to be richer than I am, go shop at All Access! It is a million times better than Hot Topic and do you want to know why? There's no whiny, emo Twilight fans! Seriously, not a speck of Twilight merchandise; All Access is way too upscale for that.
Also, for the first time in my life, I own a top that is worth more than five dollars. The sales lady saw me lusting after a top that was on clearance and asked what size I wore and then gave it to me as a Christmas present! In comparison, I've nearly been thrown out of Hot Topic for wearing pink! All Access is definitely the better store. Go check it out.

And while we're on the topic of fashion, I am still seeing people in shorts and flip-flops! Hello, guys! It's been threatening snow for the past week and a half AND it's almost Christmas! I hope you ask Santa for new legs because you'll need them when the frostbite takes your real ones. I think it's time that we start intervening. If you see your friend out in just flip-flops, shorts, and a hoodie and she's not a legitimate athlete, slosh ice water over her legs and then lock her outside for about five minutes.
Seriously, she'll thank you later.

That's all for now, folks. I will try and be a little more consistent in my updates now that the semester is over.