Jun 25, 2009

And everybody was Kung-fu fighting!

I have this habit of watching movies and playing video games only after every other single person has seen it and the hype is long over. I don't do it on purpose; it just seems to happen. Well, today I watched "Kung-Fu Panda".
On one hand, it's really sad when a kid's movie has one of the best villains I've seen in a while. On the other, I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. I cheered for chubby Po and wondered why the heck I hadn't watched it sooner.
Even my elder sister--L or L-kun, depending on how annoying I'm being--enjoyed it and she's very picky about her movie intake. We even tried to figure exactly how wiggling your pinky can make people go "FWOOOM!" I'm not a kung-fu fan and I'm more like Po than Tigeress or Snake, but I think that's why I enjoyed it so much. Doesn't just about everyone want to be a ninja when they grow up?
Of course, I read a lot of reviews bashing it for promoting obesity. I also read reviews saying it was crude, violent, and inappropriate for children. I'm not sure how these people came to these conclusions--maybe they accidentally walked into a different movie and reviewed that instead--but I, for one, was remarkably surprised at how clean it was. There wasn't a single instance of foul language and, aside from Po's butt landing on the bad guy's head during a fight, there wasn't any potty humor. Now, admittedly, there are lots of slow-motion, kung-fu fights, but they weren't violent. It was more like a Jackie Chan movie than anything else.
Whatever the reviewers say, though, I know I'm going to add Kung-Fu Panda to my list of movies I wouldn't mind seeing again.

No comments:

Post a Comment