Aug 10, 2009

Start your engines!

Today was a milestone in my life; I finally passed my driver's license test. I am very, very happy to that I didn't fail this time. This partly due to the fact getting my license is very important to me and partly because I would have had to wait 30 days before I took the test again. I look forward to being able to assist my family and friends with this new skill I have learned.
Okay, that's enough sappy stuff. Diatribe time!
Almost everyone I've talked to has told me that the supervisors on the test are crazy. I was lucky enough that I had a fairly sane tester, but still there were a few things that just annoyed the crap out of me with one in particular. Potholes.
Every time I get in the car, I drive at least three miles across a road that looks like a dinosaur on a pogo stick has been bouncing on it. Plus, segments of the road aren't even properly paved--at least not in the sense of cement and little yellow and white lines. I know what a pot-hole is and how to avoid getting rattled around in the car like the last lonely jelly-bean in the tin.
So, the last thing I want is someone grabbing the wheel when because of a tiny dent in the road. I wanted to turn around and scream at the instructor, but even a hothead like myself isn't about to yell at the person who can deem you a road hazard.
Now, I understand that I'm slightly biased, but if there are any driver's test supervisors reading this then please listen to this heartfelt plea on behalf of anyone taken the test. Please, please, please don't grab the wheel from us unless we're about to a) hit something or b) hit something. There are few things more unnerving is someone grabbing the steering wheel and yanking it out from your control. Not only is our initial reaction "Oh my gosh! Car out of control! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!", but the second reaction we have is "Personal space! Too close!"
All right, I've ranted. That's it for now.

1 comment: